Grades Shouldn’t Drag You Down

tumblr_mzii1cQfIB1st23bwo1_500

When I was a freshman, I thought that grades didn’t matter. I thought that I could play around and experiment my freshman year, but I was wrong. I ended up getting straight B’s with an exception of an A in PE. I thought that was an okay GPA, but to my dismay it wasn’t. Getting good grades in all 4 years of your high school is quite important. During my first semester of sophomore year, I had a terrible GPA of 2.87. It brought my accumulative GPA down significantly and I freaked out. I was to scared to tell my parents about the drop of my GPA. I always did schoolwork on my own with no help at all. One day I worked up the courage to tell my parents, they were going to find out sooner or later, so why not now? Once I told my parents, they obviously were disappointed in me, not because of my grades, but because of how I never came to them for help. After telling them I felt a lot better, I wasn’t feeling negative and pessimistic any longer. My parents got me a tutor to help me with second semester and I got straight A’s my second semester of sophomore year. I was the happiest person ever, I knew I could tell my parents anything and I knew they would be there for me from now on.

For those who haven’t been doing well in school, and don’t have the greatest GPA, it’s not the end of the world. Everyone makes a mistake, and that’s no reason to fall into depression or feel suicidal. If you make a mistake your freshman year, it’s not a big deal. Sophomore year and Junior year are a lot more important. Just try your best during those years and don’t slack off. If it’s too late for you to do that now there is always community college.

Community College is NOT A BAD THING. Everyone thinks that going to a community college is a bad thing. You hear people say they want to go straight to a University and become successful, but who doesn’t want to be successful. Universities are extremely expensive and an absolute waste of time if you have no idea what you want to become or major in. Also, you can go to community for a good two years to finish the required subjects and then transfer into a Uni to major in what you love to do most. All I’m saying is that bad grades aren’t going to ruin your entire future you had planned. There are always many chances to make up for the mistakes you’ve done. Don’t ever doubt yourself, or go hard on yourself because you will only be pessimistic and think of every possible way that will ruin your future career. But if you think positively about everything then the paths you think of will be positive. Then you can motivate yourself to do better and know that you should never give up.

2 thoughts on “Grades Shouldn’t Drag You Down

  1. mrballerbreakingthemankles says:

    If you come from an Asian family, grades is all that matters. In a youtube video made by mychonny he has a video called B+ again. It shows how parents want their kids to do well in life. That’s why your parents push you so hard to get a better education than them and a better life for the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment